Self-Designed Internship

Happy Monday!

As we move forward with our project, I have taken it upon myself to develop a self-designed internship that encompasses the interdisciplinary nature of this project.  As an art major, I am interested in the design and construction embodied in this project.  My interests in environmental studies, psychology, and education will all show their faces as I learn about human connections, habits, sustainable living, and the value of learning from hands on experience.

In the hopes of spending my summer building a tiny home I reached out to an organization, Live Simply Colorado, based out of my home town, Denver.  With resources and personal connections, this organization will help with construction taking place in a timely manner.

Today, I had the pleasure of talking with the Barbara Mariner, Managing Directer, and after an educational and empowering conversation I received an email from her reaffirming our decision to work together this summer as mentor and mentee.  My enthusiasm for this project was immediately heightened upon receiving this email and I am ecstatic to move forward with our final proposal.  I cannot wait to work with Barbara as she is a well-spoken and well-rounded professional that I will be able to gain knowledge and understand from as well as learning about myself and the community she has been able to establish through her organization.

I am looking forward to an educational, inspiring, challenging, identity defining, and mind blowing summer project.

Best,

Abby ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

